Husky safari in Saariselkä: 5 or 10 kilometres, drive or ride?
Updated October 29, 2026 · 4 min read
Take the 10 kilometres unless a toddler or a single free evening decides for you. The Saariselkä: 10KM Husky Safari with kennel visit costs from €249, lasts 4 hours, holds 4.8 stars from 366 reviews and adds playtime and photos at the kennel. The only 5 km listing on offer here, the Husky Safari with Aurora Borealis Hunt 5km, starts at €215 and has 4.3 stars from just 3 reviews. For a somewhat lower price you get half the trail. Local operators put two guests on each sled, so the longer route is what gives each of you a real turn on the runners.
What the extra five kilometres buy
Everything around the ride stays the same on either length, and local timetables show how small the ride’s share is. Lapland Safaris runs a 5 km Husky Experience of 2 h 30 min with about half an hour on the sled, and a 10 km Husky Safari of 3 hours with a ride of roughly 50 minutes. At Northern Lights Village the 5 km safari means about 30 minutes of riding and the 10 km one about an hour. Doubling the distance adds about half an hour to your day but nearly doubles the part you came for.
Drive or ride?
On a two-person sled one guest stands behind and controls the team while the other sits; Lapland Safaris lets pairs on its 10 km safari swap at halfway. On a half-hour 5 km run, a halfway swap leaves each of you about 15 minutes in charge. Northern Lights Village warns that in early winter or on thin snow, guests may sit in the guide’s sled instead.
Both aurora listings say you drive the sleigh yourself. The 10 km kennel listing does not say whether you steer; if mushing is the point for you, confirm it before paying.
The husky listings compared
| Tour | Trail | Duration | From | Rating | What the description includes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Saariselkä: 10KM Husky Safari with kennel visit | 10 km | 4 hours | €249 | 4.8★ (366) | kennel visit, play and photos with the dogs |
| Husky Safari with Aurora Borealis Hunt 5km | 5 km | 2 hours | €215 | 4.3★ (3) | you drive, Northern Lights hunt, warm drink |
| Husky Safari with Aurora Borealis Hunt | not stated | 3 hours | €260 | 4.5★ (15) | same wording as the 5 km version |
| Forest Walk with Harnessed Huskies | walk, no sled | 1–2 hours | €99 | 5.0★ (84) | walk with huskies on a family farm |
| Ivalo: Private Farm Visit & Husky Experience | not stated | 2.5 hours | €235 | no reviews yet | private husky activity, folklore trail, crafts |
The two aurora listings share one description and only the cheaper names a distance. The €260 version has the longer review record, 15 against 3, but 3 hours instead of 2 and no other stated difference in the trip.
Season, light and cold
The Finnish Meteorological Institute says Lapland’s winter usually begins in mid-October and lasts about 200 days. Visit Finland notes that Lapland winters can reach −30 °C and that Saariselkä sees very little sunlight in early January, so even a daytime ride then happens in low light. None of these listings mentions thermal clothing, although Lapland Safaris includes a thermal outfit in its own husky prices. If yours does not, a winter clothing set for adults or kids rents from €46.
Who each length suits
At Lapland Safaris the shorter route is the one for small children: it takes them from over 2 on its 5 km run but only from over 4 on its 10 km safari. Our 5 km listing gives no age limit, so ask before booking with a small child. The aurora versions suit anyone wanting dogs and a chance of the lights in one evening, though darkness hides the forest and three reviews are thin evidence. Lapland Safaris also rules out pregnant guests on both its 5 km and 10 km rides as physically demanding. The €99 forest walk is the gentle way to meet the dogs.
Our recommendation
Book the Saariselkä: 10KM Husky Safari with kennel visit. It has by far the deepest review record, doubles the trail and includes kennel time. Pick the 5 km aurora tour only if evenings are your one free slot.